Kiwi House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in New Zealand
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

 
Silver (12mths)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 0 - 1 week, 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese, Reptile(s)
Preferred Locations
  • North Island: Auckland, Bay of Plenty, Manawatū-Whanganui, Northland, Waikato  
Availability
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
    Available    
    Unavailable
    Jul
    Aug
    Sep
    Oct
    Nov
    Dec
  • 2024: 5-26 Jul | 27 Jul - 9 Sep | 10 Sep - 16 Dec | 17 Dec - 8 Mar 2025
  • On a house-sit right now

EXPERIENCED PET-LOVING CARER

56, MENTOR, COACH, INSPIRATIONAL SPEAKER

I'm Amanda (you can Google me!) & as an animal-crazy, nature-loving, hiking-mad solopreneur & business woman who works remotely, I have the freedom, love & energy to take away all the anxiety fur-baby 'loaners' experience when needing to leave their babies, homes, plants & gardens.

I was the privileged human entrusted as the loaner of Monty Model Dog, who posed with Lorde for Royals. Monty was a 'Licorice all sort'-a Rhodesian Ridgeback x Great Dane-rescue dog, then we adopted a re-homed French Bulldog, Sonny.

We've also always had several cats - usually 2 at a time, so it was constantly a menagerie of cats & dogs in our home for over 16 years.

I've had animals since I was 5 (ok, over 50 years ago!) so having animals while I was raising my (now 26yr-old) son was amazing for our family.

I co-founded my own model agency, Red11 Models, then mentoring business, & Monty came to work with me every day for over 9years.

Monty also helped me in my work as a therapy dog. I'm contracted by the NZ government to coach ex-incarcerated young people & women on probation & Monty demonstrated how amazing a dog can be when they're well-trained & loved. Of course working with the government, particularly youth justice & corrections means I'm regularly police vetted & am reliable & trustworthy.

I'm also pretty sharp with a camera, so love taking pics & little videos & sending to owners If they're up for it all while respecting home owners confidentiality.

With my son now grown & living his own life, I'm happily single, I’m a non-smoker, I’m healthy, active & in position to work from wherever I wash my clothes!

I love bush walks & the beach so love taking dogs with me, if they're up for it of course!

I also love cats, plants & taking care of gardens. I Love my own company, & am writing a book so you don't have to worry about strangers being in your home - I don't have time! I'm also known for leaving places better than how I found them (repeat business, top reviews & word of mouth is the best way to grow & sustain business!).

I'm always chosen among my friends to pet/house-sit so have extensive experience around the world (Sydney, Melbourne, San Fran) to take care of others' Guinea pigs dogs, cats, chickens & rabbits (& often, children!).

I seem to have a great way with dogs & my dogs have been so obedient, we used to dress them up & photograph them (All for free-range chicken, mind). Quite often, I've ended up training people's dogs in some basics making them easier for others to look after.

Whether your dog is a confident go-getter type or a highly-strung, insecure little thing, when dogs feel safe with you & you're consistent, they are calm and happy. I even have a friend with a cat who will take a nip at you, but she loves me & I love her. You just need to know how to approach her.

Oh & I have a Mitsubishi Outlander so I love to take dogs out, & I'm not afraid of dirty, muddy dogs (& cleaning them before we enter the house!). I'm open to working anywhere, just ask me!

I love animals, & because I travel so much, have missed my own animals. That’s why housesitting others’ babies is perfect for me!

If you like what you're reading, as mentioned, feel free to Google me & see what I stand for, check me out on my business page HEARTSPEAK WORLDWIDE (Insta is best!) & I'm open to travel to wherever you are.

I’m new to this site though not new to housesitting so will have written references soon, though am happy to give you numbers to contact people I’ve house/pet-sitted for immediately!

I’m Auckland-based though open to anywhere in NZ for longer-term stays & travel expenses.

If I don’t respond immediately, text me to check my messages & I’ll get back to you as soon as I’m able.

PS. I'm booked for a month in Wellington from 3rd May - late Mayish/early June. Would love to take care of someone’s home and babies over June.

Feel free to ask for phone references if you require!

Reviews (2)
Amanda took great care of our animals and property. Would happily have her stay again. Thanks so much!
 
RACHEL (Te Atatu South North Island, Jun 2024 - 4 nights)
Amanda is an exceptional, amazing and wonderful kind human. I had to cancel the travel plans, dissoluting from extenuating circumstances beyond our control, thus the house-sit did not proceed. I let Amanda know straight away, and she responded very kindly and professionally. Her communication throughout was very warm, vibrant and very committed. Highly recommend to others. :-)
 
LYDIA (Pokeno , Jun 2024 - 3 nights)
 
Free Pet Care

Happy pets!

A house sitter provides loving, full-time, home-based pet-care while you're away.

Feefo badge